How to watch NBA All-Star 2018 online or on Kodi

Published by on febbraio 5, 2018 in Kodi

nba all-stars 2018

Are you interested in watching the NBA All-Star 2018 games online or on Kodi? In this article, we’ll be detailing where you can watch this matchup as it happens.

Starting February 16th, basketball’s biggest stars will descend upon Staples Center in California for a three day long celebration of the sport. This year’s team captains are LeBron James and Stephen Curry, two exceptional players with a personal rivalry. As such, this event promises to be one you won’t want to miss. Luckily, it’s being broadcast live online from several sources. You can also access some of these sources on Kodi.

Kodi is one of the most popular media center applications available. This success is partly due to the fact that it’s completely free to use, but Kodi also offers a degree of customizability that is unmatched by most of its rivals such as Stremio. Kodi can be installed on numerous platforms including the Amazon Fire Stick, Roku, and USB flash drives. Further, its mobile versions maintain most of the functionality found in the desktop releases.

This article will explain where you can watch NBA All-Star 2018 online, no matter where you are in the world. It’s important to note that we won’t be discussing any websites or Kodi addons that use unlicensed streams. NBA All-Star 2018 will be broadcast on several legitimate services so you shouldn’t have any trouble watching it anyway.

If you’d like to watch NBA All-Star 2018 on Kodi, click here to jump to the relevant section. If you’d prefer to watch online, click here for streaming options.

Warning: Kodi should only be used for content to which you have the legal right to access. Neither the Kodi Foundation nor Comparitech advocates the use of Kodi for piracy.

Important: Always use a VPN with Kodi

Some people connect to virtual private networks (VPNs) to hide unauthorized streaming from their internet service provider (ISP). That said, VPNs have many legitimate uses and can greatly benefit most people, including those who only use official sources.

VPNs work by routing your network traffic through an encrypted tunnel. This makes your data unreadable to any outside observers like your ISP or anyone using a Man-in-the-Middle (MitM) attack. ISPs have been known to limit their customer’s speeds in an attempt to prevent streaming but a good VPN will stop them from using this as a justification.

Not every VPN is the same. Some keep detailed logs of your activities that could be traced back to you. Some slow your network down to the point where it’s almost unusable. In more serious cases, some include malicious software. Because your VPN provider will have access to potentially sensitive information, it’s important to find one that you can trust.

We recommend IPVanish. It has a negligible impact on your internet speed and offers stable connections to servers in more than 50 countries. Further, it’s highly portable, with dedicated apps for the most popular mobile devices.

READER DEAL: Save 60% on an IPVanish annual plan here.

How to watch NBA All-Star 2018 online

Watch the NBA All-Star event online or with Kodi
By Rondo Estrello [CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
If you’re in the US, watching the NBA All-Star 2018 coverage is fairly straightforward. There are 13 events spread out over three broadcasters: NBA TV, ESPN, and TNT. Each of these has its own online streaming platform, so as long as you have the relevant subscription, you’re covered. That said, NBA League Pass subscribers will only be able to watch after the events have finished. It’s worth noting that there’s a one-day pass for NBA TV that might be a good choice if you don’t plan on watching regularly.

Here’s a list of every event, what time it’s on, and where you can watch it.

February 16th

Mtn Dew Kickstart Rising Stars Practice – NBA TV –  12:30PM EST/9:30AM PST

NBA All-Star Celebrity Game presented by Ruffles – ESPN – 7PM EST/4PM PST

Mtn Dew Kickstart Rising Stars – TNT – 9PM EST/6PM PST

February 17th

Hall of Fame Announcement – NBA TV – 1PM EST/10AM PST

NBA All-Star Practice & Media Day – NBA TV – 2PM EST/11AM PST

Commissioner Adam Silver media availability – NBA TV – 7PM EST/4PM PST

Taco Bell Skills Challenge, JBL Three-Point Contest, and Verizon Slam Dunk – TNT – 8PM EST/5PM PST

February 18th

NBA Legends Brunch – NBA TV – 3PM EST/12PM PST

NBA G League International Challenge presented by Kumho Tire – NBA TV – 4:30PM EST/1:30PM PST

67th NBA All-Star Game – TNT – 7 PM EST/4PM PST

If you want to watch the NBA All-Star 2018 coverage from outside of the US, you can to some degree. Because NBA TV allows users from other countries to register, you can watch all of the content they’ll be broadcasting. Similarly, the ESPN Player isn’t available in the US, so you’ll have to connect to a European server first.

TNT, however, requires users to log in with their cable provider’s information so if you don’t live in the US, you won’t be able to watch. American viewers who are away from home should bear in mind that they’ll also have to connect to one of their VPN’s American servers in the correct location e.g. California for TNT West, New York for TNT East.

How to watch NBA All-Star 2018 on Kodi

All three broadcasters have official Kodi addons that allow you to legally watch the All-Stars events. Below, we’ll cover each of these addons in more detail and explain where you can find them.

NBA League Pass

NBA League pass

If you’re a basketball fan, you might already have an NBA League Pass subscription. If so, you can enter your details into the NBA League Pass Kodi addon and start watching live and on-demand games straight away. If you haven’t signed up yet, you can see everything that’s on offer but will only be able to watch selected video clips.

With archived games going as far back as 2012, there’s plenty to keep you occupied. There’s even the option to search by date if you’re looking for something specific. In the settings menu, you can set your favorite team. This allows you to only show games where that team has played, making it easier to find the games that really matter to you.

The NBA League Pass addon can be found in the official Kodi addon repository.

PS Vue

PS_Vue_Main

PS Vue is a live TV streaming service similar to USTV Now or FilmOn. It’s fairly expensive, with prices starting at $39.99 a month, but it provides access to more than 40 channels and allows you to record shows to watch later. There’s also a selection of on-demand movies and TV shows, so you’re not limited to just sporting content.

The PS Vue Kodi addon is a great choice for watching NBA All-Stars 2018 because it’s the only official addon that offers a TNT live stream. ESPN is also available, so it covers two of the three broadcasters airing the events.

The PS Vue addon is available from the official Kodi addon repository.

ESPN Player

ESPN Player

Similar to the NBA League Pass, the ESPN Player Kodi addon offers a selection of live and on-demand sports. You will have to sign up for an account before you can watch anything though; prices start at around $10 a month, and there’s a $7 one-day pass available too.

Before paying any money, you should note that only one of All-Star 2018’s events is being shown on ESPN. As such, this addon doesn’t offer quite the same value as the other two we’re recommending. That said, if you want to watch every event via Kodi and don’t want to pay for PS Vue membership, the ESPN Player addon is a must-have.

The ESPN Player addon can be found in the official Kodi addon repository.

Alternative addons to avoid

Above, we’ve recommended using official Kodi addons and streams to watch NBA All-Star 2018. We urge our readers to reject unofficial streams outright, but certain third-party addons are often touted as “the best ways to watch live TV” on less scrupulous sites and forums. Below, we’ve listed a few of these—not to encourage their use, but to remove any doubt as to whether they’re legitimate or not.

Halow Live TV

Picasso

Supra Box

Live Mix

Castaway

Project Mayhem

Why should you avoid these addons? Because they don’t use official sources, the athletes, managers, and broadcasters don’t make any money when you watch using these addons. This makes it less likely that these platforms will want to broadcast similar content in the future. Further, third-party addons aren’t put through the same technical vetting process that official addons are. As such, they could provide an attacker with a means of gaining access to your system. It’s also worth noting that unofficial streams are often unreliable and limited to low resolutions.

For these reasons, we do not recommend installing the addons above.

Conclusion

Because the NBA All-Star events will be shown on three different channels, there are a multitude of ways to watch. That said, there’s still some time before they actually begin. To help keep you occupied, we’ve written guides to the best addons for sports, movies, and cartoons that Kodi has to offer.

Kodi is highly versatile, but can be confusing to new users. If you’re having trouble getting Kodi to work properly, you might want to read our guide to fixing common problems, reducing buffering, or removing a Kodi build.

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.